ProductTeam
Community Manager
Community Manager

Managing your checkpoint library

 

DQM admins can manage checkpoints, which increases the level of customization you have in DQM.

Checkpoint management capabilities

Admins can customize checkpoints in the following ways:

  • Changing a checkpoint's visibility
  • Changing a checkpoint's priority
  • Changing a checkpoint's summary
  • Changing a checkpoint's description

Changing a checkpoint's visibility

You can change a checkpoint’s visibility to limit its appearance to certain users. Some use cases may include when an admin is testing a checkpoint. Additionally, an admin may want to hide a checkpoint because the issue cannot be resolved by a user, but still needs to be tracked.

To change a checkpoint’s visibility, follow these steps:

  1. From the Checkpoint Management page, select the checkpoint that you'd like to edit.

    checkpoint-management-select.JPG

    This opens the Checkpoint Management details page.

    checkpoint-management-details.JPG

  2. Select the checkpoint visibility level from the drop-down.

    checkpoint-visibility.JPG

    Everyone - This option makes the checkpoint visible to all users.
    AdminThis option restricts the checkpoint visibility to only admins and users with access to view admin-only checkpoints.

    A confirmation message displays to inform you that the checkpoint visibility has been updated.

Setting a checkpoint as Priority Checkpoint

Changing a checkpoint’s priority allows users to view all priority checkpoints in a singular view, aiding in focusing on the most important checkpoints. Only admins can change a checkpoint’s priority.

To change a checkpoint’s priority, follow these steps:

  1. From the Checkpoint Management page, select the checkpoint that you'd like to edit.

    checkpoint-management-select.JPG

    This opens the Checkpoint Management details page.

    checkpoint-management-details.JPG

  2. Set the checkpoint as priority by selecting the toggle button.

    checkpoint-prioirty.JPG

    Onthis setting sets the checkpoint as a priority.
    Offthis setting removes the priority flag on the checkpoint.

    A confirmation message displays to inform you that the checkpoint priority has been updated.

Changing a checkpoint's summary

The checkpoint summary is a short description found under each checkpoint that gives a brief overview about the checkpointYou can change the description to match the wording used by your organization, or to add context if the checkpoint is customized.

issues-checkpoint-summary.JPG

To change a checkpoint summary, follow these steps:

  1. From the Checkpoint Management page, choose the checkpoint that you'd like to edit.

    checkpoint-management-select.JPG

    This opens the Checkpoint Management details page.

    checkpoint-management-details.JPG

  2. Click Edit. This enables a text field where you can update the summary description.

    checkpoint-summary-edit.JPG

  3. Click Save when you're finished. A confirmation message displays to inform you that the checkpoint description has been updated.

You can also reset a checkpoint's description to the default summary.

  1. Select the checkpoint for whose summary you want to reset.
  2. From the Checkpoint Management details page, click Reset.

    Library checkpoints will be reset to the default summary available from our best practice library. Custom checkpoints will be reset to a blank summary.

Changing a checkpoint's description

The checkpoint description is a new option that allows administrators to provide more information regarding a checkpoint. The checkpoint description is available from a link in areas of DQM where the checkpoint summary is visible.

When creating a description, we recommend including the following information:

  • Why a checkpoint is important 
  • How a user can resolve the issue highlighted by the checkpoint 
  • What quality topics the checkpoint affects 
  • An explanation on how the checkpoint works 
  • And any useful reference information 

Note: The default description for library checkpoints are based on your default setup. As checkpoints are customized, the descriptions should be updated.

To change a checkpoint descriptionfollow these steps:

  1. From the Checkpoint Management page, select the checkpoint you'd like to edit.

    checkpoint-management-select.JPG

    This opens the Checkpoint Management details page.

    checkpoint-management-details.JPG

  2. Click Edit. This enables a text field where you can update the description.

    extended-checkpoint-description-edit.JPG

  3. Update the description text.
  4. Click Save. A confirmation message displays to inform you that the checkpoint descriptions has been updated.

You can also reset a checkpoint's description to the default.

  1. Select the checkpoint for whose summary you want to reset.
  2. From the Checkpoint Management details page, click Reset.

    Library checkpoints will be reset to the default summary available from our best practice library. Custom checkpoints will be reset to a blank summary.
Labels (1)

Can't find what you are looking for?

Find Answers

Search our DQM Forum to find answers to questions asked by other DQM users.

Ask a Question

No luck? Ask a question. Our Product and Support teams are monitoring the Forum and typically respond within 48 hours.

Ask a Question