Crownpeak (Retired)

WCAG 2.2 Accessibility Page - August 2021

We are very happy to inform everyone that a new Accessibility page is now available in the new user interface of DQM. The new Accessibility page has now been updated to the latest WCAG 2.2 standard which is in its second review draft and is expected to be released as a published recommendation at the end of 2021.

What is WCAG 2.2?

WCAG 2.2 is the latest version of WCAG that adds 9 new Success Criterions (SC) and updates the WCAG level of 1 existing SC. All existing WCAG 2.1 SC remain valid and is now incorporated into this new standard. Please do refer to the article WCAG 2.2 is coming: What’s new and how to easily comply to learn more about the standard.

Why is the new Accessibility page using WCAG 2.2?

While still in a draft state the documentation available from Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 already provides meaningful information on what to expect once the new standard is published. The new standard also incorporates WCAG 2.1 with very minor changes so existing checks could be incorporated without issues. By having the WCAG 2.2 available in the new Accessibility page you would have the opportunity to see this new information. As always we will continue to monitor the progress of the WCAG 2.2 standard and adjust this new page as changes are made.

Where will we see the new DQM Accessibility page?

The new DQM Accessibility page is available in the new DQM User Interface. The Classic DQM User Interface will continue to use the existing Accessibility page that supports WCAG 2.1.

What new checkpoints can we expect?

Apart from reviewing the new Success Criterions for WCAG 2.2 a review was made on WCAG 2.1 as well to see if new checkpoints could be added. Please reach out to your Customer Success manager for the full list of checkpoints that have been added to the DQM Best Practice library. Please note that these new library checkpoints are not automatically added to your instance and will have to be requested to be added once the new page becomes available.

What is the difference with the new Accessibility page?

9 new Success Criterions will be added to the Accessibility page:

2.4.11 Focus Appearance (Minimum)

2.4.12 Focus Appearance (Enhanced)

2.4.13 Page Break Navigation

2.5.7 Dragging Movements

2.5.8 Target Size (Minimum)

3.2.6 Consistent Help

3.2.7 Visible Controls

3.3.7 Accessible Authentication

3.3.8 Redundant Entry

Will the Accessibility page of the classic UI be updated to WCAG 2.2 as well?

We will be keeping the Accessibility page of the classic or current user interface as WCAG 2.1 and are focusing our efforts in providing the latest standard in the new UI.

What other changes are expected?

Checkpoints will be updated to the most appropriate success criterions

Expect more checkpoints to apply to multiple success criterions

WCAG level counting still counts each time a checkpoint appears on a success criterion, having said this the items below will affect the calculation of A, AA and AAA issue counts

WCAG levels will be updated for 2.4.7 Focus Visible from AA to A

With more checkpoints applying to multiple Success Criteria these checkpoints will be counted every time they appear in a Success Criterion

How can I send feedback on the new DQM UI?

Feel free to share any comments you have on the new DQM UI through or reach out to your Customer Success Manager.

Labels (1)

Can't find what you are looking for?

Find Answers

Search our DQM Forum to find answers to questions asked by other DQM users.

Ask a Question

No luck? Ask a question. Our Product and Support teams are monitoring the Forum and typically respond within 48 hours.

Ask a Question