EdwardChan
Crownpeak Employee
Crownpeak Employee

What happens when file is manually removed from server

Question

What happens when file is manually removed from server

Answer

When a file is manually removed from the server a few things occur

  • The file is no longer accessible from the web using the url (i.e. www.example.com/test would no longer be accessible and would display a 404 error)
  • The CMS will still show the file published and will potentially "skip" on any subsequent republish attempts as the CMS does not know the file was manually removed
  •  If the file is deleted in the CMS after it is manually removed, it will generate an error indicating that the file does not exist on the server
    • To republish the file to server, either move the asset back to draft and republish, or branch the asset and publish the branch. Both of these will force the asset to republish


NOTE: It is best practice to only delete / unpublish files from the CMS and not modify them outside of the CMS

Labels (1)

Can't find what you are looking for?

Find Answers

Search our DXM Forum to find answers to questions asked by other DXM users.

Ask a Question

No luck? Ask a question. Our Product and Support teams are monitoring the Forum and typically respond within 48 hours.

Ask a Question