Digital Experience Management
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CMS Knowledge Base

What happens when file is manually removed from server

Question

What happens when file is manually removed from server

Answer

When a file is manually removed from the server a few things occur

  • The file is no longer accessible from the web using the url (i.e. www.example.com/test would no longer be accessible and would display a 404 error)
  • The CMS will still show the file published and will potentially "skip" on any subsequent republish attempts as the CMS does not know the file was manually removed
  •  If the file is deleted in the CMS after it is manually removed, it will generate an error indicating that the file does not exist on the server
    • To republish the file to server, either move the asset back to draft and republish, or branch the asset and publish the branch. Both of these will force the asset to republish


NOTE: It is best practice to only delete / unpublish files from the CMS and not modify them outside of the CMS

Labels (4)
Version history
Revision #:
2 of 2
Last update:
‎05-01-2019 12:33 PM
Updated by:
 
Contributors
Looking for more?
Ask in Discussions
Developers

Peer-to-peer support  and answers on developing CMS templates, modifying privacy scripts or building integrations.

Digital Experience Management

Find answers and ask questions on content management, personalization and targeting.

Digital Quality Management

Find answers and ask questions on WCAG and SEO quality management.

Digital Governance

Find answers and ask questions on consent and monitoring solutions.